PDA

View Full Version : Hi! Newbie + SD Sufferer

chrissy9184
December 9th, 2018, 02:06 PM
HI!

I am a total newbie here, but I've been stalking forums for quite a while and finally decided to join. Everyone just seemed so supportive, helpful and smart, especially in the realms where I'm struggling right now, so I figured... why not. To start off, I don't know all the fancy hair terminology, so forgive me for describing my condition/hair in the wrong ways. I'll be totally honest and say that I seriously haven't paid much attention to my hair in the past - I'm a 25 year old girl, and I've been blessed with very easy, manageable hair. I've never colored it or treated it, it's pretty thin/fine (it always has been) and I wash it every day. It's pretty long right now - a little below my chest.

Before people start giving me flack for washing my hair every day, let me give some background. My scalp hates me - which sounds like a lot of other people on here, thank goodness. In September, I got this seemingly-random flare-up of SD all over my scalp, behind my ears and on my temples. The worst areas were along my hairline - it was just this red crust/border of flakey, scaley skin that was irritated by everything. I cannot think of ANYTHING that would've triggered it, but it really started to drive me insane (and anxious), so I visited my doctor, who pretty much immediately diagnosed it as psoriasis. Cue serious anxiety and frantic googling of psoriasis, which is probably the absolute worst thing you can do - some of the pictures, articles and forums I found were terrifying, and sometimes I was reduced to tears when I let myself think about what I was in for.

After reading, I decided I needed to get some Selsun Blue and start conditioning my hair - because, in fact, psoriasis is dry skin and moisture helps. Obviously, things just got worse after conditioning.