PDA

View Full Version : coconut oil, does time matter?

r3d
November 16th, 2018, 07:36 AM
hey all!
I did a lot of digging, but couldn't find anything that gave me a true answer...
I love coconut oil, it has done wonders for my hair, and I have been using it for many many years. I have used Parachute Coconut Oil, and have just recently started using Nutiva which I LOOOVE!
my question is, does it make a difference in how long we leave the coconut oil in, whether 1 hour, 3 hours, overnight ( 5 to 8 hours )?
I always thought the longer the better, but my schedule lately has been very busy and I am wondering if it's okay to do it for shorter period of time, or if it is pointless?

thank you <3

TreesOfEternity
November 16th, 2018, 07:48 AM
I find that leaving it for 2 hours does the trick, any more than that doesn't really make a difference although sometimes I would leave it overnight because I don't have time to wash it out the very same day and it's fine.

LillyoftheValie
November 16th, 2018, 08:21 AM
I think it matters. I notice my hair stays very silky when I leave it in several hours vs. 20 minutes.

MusicalSpoons
November 16th, 2018, 08:51 AM
It can matter, depending on your hair. Some people find better results after leaving it on longer, some find better results after leaving it on for a shorter period of time! The only way to find out how your hair reacts to leaving it on for a shorter period of time will be to give it a go :flower:

Ylva
November 16th, 2018, 08:57 AM
It can matter, depending on your hair. Some people find better results after leaving it on longer, some find better results after leaving it on for a shorter period of time! The only way to find out how your hair reacts to leaving it on for a shorter period of time will be to give it a go :flower: