PDA

View Full Version : What does a mousse do?

SeRe
July 5th, 2018, 03:59 PM
Sorry for the dumb question but what does a mousse do? How is it different from a leave in serum?

lapushka
July 5th, 2018, 04:06 PM
A mousse is not like a leave-in, but rather like a styler or gel.

Some people can't cope with gel well, especially if you have straighter long hair, a mousse might be more suited towards your needs in that case.

SeRe
July 5th, 2018, 04:16 PM
A mousse is not like a leave-in, but rather like a styler or gel.

Some people can't cope with gel well, especially if you have straighter long hair, a mousse might be more suited towards your needs in that case.

Thank you. I’m wondering how the devacurl wave maker which is a mousse made my hair wavier even without scrunching, when compared to my hair with no product and also when compared to my hair with a silicone leave in.

Just want to understand the science behind it. I suddenly realized I have no experience with hair stylers other than a leave in with silicones.

Dark40
July 5th, 2018, 04:17 PM
I agree with lapushka. Mousse is like a styler or gel.

lapushka
July 5th, 2018, 04:34 PM
I didn't say you couldn't use a mousse if you were wavy/curly - not at all. :)

But a gel isn't exactly nice to use if you have straighter hair, you know?

Rebeccalaurenxx
July 5th, 2018, 04:43 PM
Thank you. I’m wondering how the devacurl wave maker which is a mousse made my hair wavier even without scrunching, when compared to my hair with no product and also when compared to my hair with a silicone leave in.

Just want to understand the science behind it. I suddenly realized I have no experience with hair stylers other than a leave in with silicones.

Silicones are heavy - they will weigh the wavy pattern down, thats why theyre typically avoided with CG methods.
Personally for me, they not only flatten my wave pattern but they make my ends look really thin and gives me tangles.