PDA

View Full Version : How much hair oil do you use?

mane_event
June 27th, 2018, 09:51 PM
Hi folks!

I'm relatively new to using natural oils on my hair (6 months or less), and I'm wondering---when you oil your hair, how much oil (and what kind!) do you use?

Right now I use a 50/50 blend of avocado and jojoba oils, and most days I part my hair down the middle and use a dime-sized amount on each side, starting at the ends and working my way up. The night before wash day, though, I work a large quantity all through my hair until it looks almost wet and let it sit overnight.

I sometimes wonder if I'm using too much, but I'm frankly baffled when people say they use just a few drops--if you do this, how do you get it spread throughout your hair? Do you find it to actually be moisturizing? I'm genuinely curious!

Milady_DeWinter
June 27th, 2018, 10:03 PM
I just use 6-7 drops, I put it in my hands, rub them and apply it onto my hair. I usually put a conditioning hair salve just before, as oils are NOT moisturizing, just help to contain the moisture :)

Avocado oil is my fav hair oil to go :o

littlestarface
June 27th, 2018, 10:13 PM
It depends what i'm doing it for, so like say before a shower I do aton of oil and during a shower I use about a quarter size amount of oil after a shampoo before conditioner.

Before shower I use castor oil on the scalp with black seed oil, coconut oil on the length. During a shower I use olive oil but I wanna try black seed oil then too but I always forget it before I get in so I just end up using the olive oil again.

Teazel
June 27th, 2018, 10:48 PM
I use jojoba oil whenever my hair gets snarly. So, maybe every 3 weeks or so...? Just 3 drops each side (from the ears down) provides enough slip.

Deborah
June 27th, 2018, 11:19 PM
None. My hair does not seem to need conditioners or oil, so I don't use either. Probably that is why I only need to wash it once a week. I don't put anything on it that attracts dirt or creates oiliness.