PDA

View Full Version : Daily shampooing - will it hurt growth?

joiekimochi
June 18th, 2018, 01:01 AM
When I rocked hip-length hair a couple of years ago, I would wash my hair every 3-4 days. My hair was in pretty good condition and so was my scalp.

When I started my bleach adventure, I would stretch the washes up to 5 days, since my scalp was so dry from constant bleaching, and my bleached hair soaked up sebum and didn't look greasy.

However, I started getting heavily into fitness a short while later, and ended up having to wash my hair after each workout since I sweat a lot. At that time it was every other day, since I worked out on alternate days.

Then, when I graduated into becoming an instructor, I began teaching and working out every single day. At first I stuck to alternate day washing and kept my hair in stinky French braids, but some time last year, it turned into the worst case of scalp eczema, urticaria and SD combined I've ever experienced. My scalp was constantly on fire, burning, itching, with big swollen welts.

In the end I cut my hair to a short bob and have been maintaining at that length for over a year. I stopped bleaching, and wash my hair every day, even on my rest day, because skipping one day makes my scalp itch. The issues have otherwise gone away - after so many months of burning, itching scalp, waking up everyday with a normal scalp is such a relief.

Anyway, I am back on the growing bandwagon. My question is, as my hair starts to get longer, will daily washing hurt the health and quality of my lengths? Are there ways to avoid mechanical damage on my ends while still keeping my scalp clean and clear of irritants?

Thanks in advance!

Sarahlabyrinth
June 18th, 2018, 01:10 AM
I tried daily washing for several months and it dried my ends out terribly.