PDA

View Full Version : Weather/ Season confusion...

Careeredcrunchi
June 4th, 2018, 12:16 PM
Hello LHC!

I am a newbie and I am slowly accumulating knowledge, and tools and products to help my damaged hair. One of the main confusions that I have and major source of damage is due to weather/season conditions.

I live in the Pacific North West with a high amount of humidity and wanted some more information on what causes hair issues with season or weather/climate change.

I have fine hair that I have major issues with matting and tangling. This has caused a lot of damage along with an ignorance of how to handle it. Where I am confused is that this damage seems to be way more frequent in the winter, which is the most humid part of the year here because it rains constantly.

So far the changes I have been making include adding more moisture to my hair and this has stopped a lot of the matting and tangling. What I don't understand is that most damage happens in the winter due to lack of moisture, but where does that come from? Electric heaters? Linty sweaters? If the humidity is the highest in winter, doesn't that mean more moisture?

Is it an issue of locking it in properly with the ROO or LOC methods?

Thank you lovely people! Hoping that I can be prepared with things to try once winter rolls around and not be devastated that I finally found a working routine, just in time for it to stop working this winter... Haha

Margarita
June 4th, 2018, 01:22 PM