PDA

View Full Version : Dark box dye without bleach in developer?

Esya
June 2nd, 2018, 08:02 AM
Hi,

I've read somewhere that even dark hairdyes have some bleaching elements in the developer. Is this true? I can't seem to find anything reliable online and my chemistry knoledge is lacking.

I'm planning to use box dye to cover the greys, but I don't know now. Do you guys know any box dye brands that don't have anything bleaching/damaging for hair? Or are at least the least damaging?

Thanks in advance.

TreesOfEternity
June 2nd, 2018, 08:45 AM
I can’t speak about henna as I have zero experience with it, maybe someone could talk about that option.

I used black dye for years and yes permanent hair dye has hydrogen peroxide, used to deposit the pigment inside your hair and activate the dye. This is the same ingredient used to “lift” or lighten hair, but on dark dyes the idea is using only a 10 volume, the necessary amount for fixing the new color without removing too much melanin from your strands.
The only option without this are semi permanents, which go away when you wash your hair and are not really effective covering greys, so you have to apply over and over which ends up being a harmful process.

If you really want to cover your greys I would go to a profesional colorist to have the color treatment done, and then use really good products not only to preserve your hair’s health but also to not lose the color on your length, as you want to avoid dying again that part and only do touch-ups on the new growth.

MoonRabbit
June 2nd, 2018, 08:52 AM
I can’t speak about henna as I have zero experience with it, maybe someone could talk about that option.