PDA

View Full Version : ROO(Rinse out oil) method for Fine, 1a/1b hair?

Careeredcrunchi
May 18th, 2018, 06:29 PM
Hello everyone!

Newbie here, second thread. Was talking about light oiling hair after washing in a post about lint causing damage, and was recommended the ROO method. Just wanted to get some further details about this method on 1a/1b F/M hair.

Has anyone tried this on their hair in this type range?

What oils did you use?

How much oil do you use?

What changes did you notice or like/dislike about this method?

Does anyone know if a shampoo/conditioner that contains protein will affect the ROO method?

Oils are still a very confusing subject to me and I've read a lot of posts here on LHC regarding them. I'm thinking I will just have to figure out which oil my hair likes, but wanted to see what experience others had too.

Thank you all!

lithostoic
May 18th, 2018, 06:32 PM
Great question, I've been considering it myself! Waiting for replies.

Zesty
May 18th, 2018, 07:06 PM
I haven't typed myself as exactly in your range, but my hair errs on the fine side (and is by no means thick in overall volume) and behaves as 1b these days... I've used mineral oil and almond oil in the ROO method very successfully. I use about a dime sized amount on my TBL+ hair.

I don't think protein will affect the method.

Just experiment and see what works. :) Worst case scenarios: (a) it doesn't make a difference, in which case you haven't hurt anything or (b) it makes your hair look kinda greasy until you wash again. :shrug: *OR* it could make your hair super moisturized and silky! Everything to gain.

Larki
May 18th, 2018, 08:27 PM