PDA

View Full Version : Growing out old dye, to cut now or later?

NikitaJane
May 10th, 2018, 01:45 AM
Hi everyone.

So, I've been growing out old dye on my ends since early June 2016 ish.
My hair is currently MBL, a few inches off from waist.

The difference in colour on the ends bothers me, but at the same time my hair is the longest it's ever been, and my goal is waist and then hip length.

I cant decide whether it would be better to cut off all the old colour now and then grow it out to waist>hip or to grow it first and then maintain the length there until the colour grows out bit by bit.

Here is a photo of my hair and the line marks roughly the border between my natural hair colour and the old colour:
https://s9.postimg.cc/khtupltfj/dgffe.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

What do you all think?

Joules
May 10th, 2018, 01:49 AM
Wow :thudpile:

You have gorgeous healthy hair, the color difference to me looks intentional, like a beautibul ombre done in a salon :) I wouldn't cut it!

Sarahlabyrinth
May 10th, 2018, 01:53 AM
It looks gorgeously beautiful - and deliberate. There's no way I would cut it!

Milady_DeWinter
May 10th, 2018, 01:58 AM
I wouldn't cut either, I'm doing the same and I'll cut the dye bit by bit while growing out. I might maintain being at BCL to get ride of all of it, then I'll be ready to classic :)

Your hair looks pretty healthy, so if you want lenght you shouldn't cut it :o Looks great as it is!

Lady Stardust
May 10th, 2018, 02:09 AM
Your hair looks absolutely stunning and the colour looks intentional. Cutting off all that lovely hair would be a crying shame.

I’d keep doing whatever it is that you’re currently doing in terms of trims or no trims because it’s clearly working.

Kake
May 10th, 2018, 03:09 AM
Your hair is really beautiful as it is. The colour difference is gentle and natural looking.

_fred_
May 10th, 2018, 03:16 AM
Your hair looks amazing - such gorgeous colours, and the ombre looks entirely intentional.