PDA

View Full Version : How did you decide when to cut back?

njrb
April 12th, 2018, 06:29 PM
I am curious what made you decide to cut your hair. Not short, but some decrease in length more than just a trim of an inch. I've been growing longer and longer for 5+ years and I have had trims to help my ends and get a better hemline, but never for the intent of going shorter. Lately I have started to think about it. It's hard to always do what I'd like style wise due to convenience and a little less length would be less work as well. But its not always a problem and you can't undo a cut so I have been hesitant to go through with anything.

How have you all decided to go through with a cut and what factors motivated your decision? Any advice?

spidermom
April 12th, 2018, 06:40 PM
I agonized over this for about 2 years. I grew my hair to classic length, and it looked great in photos, but it was a pain my toosh. It took hours to air dry while hanging all over me, which felt terrible in cold weather. There were so many split ends and other kinds of damage that the ends stuck together like Velcro. I kept cutting back to hip to get rid of the split ends, but by the time it grew back to tailbone length, the split ends and other damage were back in spite of the fact that I was as careful with my hair as I could be. I decided to be more drastic, so at first I cut back to about waist, then to BSL, and finally to something between shoulder and collarbone length. There I found my happy place. I still had styling options, yet it was quick to wash and dry, and looked equally good whether blow dried or air dried.

Now I'm planning to grow out to waist, which I've been able to do in the past while maintaining good condition. Wish me luck!

prairie lark
April 12th, 2018, 07:09 PM