PDA

View Full Version : Essential and carrier oils!!! Please help.

Ariel love
March 21st, 2018, 08:23 AM
Hey everyone,
I have noticed that recently my hair has gotten brittle and dry and I have been experiencing little breakage. I have heard a lot about essential oils and it's benefits but I am not sure about it. I have heard that it has to be diluted in carrier oils. I am not very good at selecting right productyand end up with something useless.

So, I just wanted to know of any of you are using any kind of essential oil. Are they healthy and safe? And what oils do you use?

I really need help about it. Thank you.

Nightshade
March 21st, 2018, 08:48 AM
To answer your questions first:

1- I use a TON of essential oils, both for personal and professional use. They are healthy and safe if used correctly (never taken internally, used at proper dilution, etc.)

2- a good ratio of dilution is outlined in this chart (https://www.rockymountainoils.com/dilution-rate/). More is NOT better for Essential Oils and can be very dangerous.

Which essential oils you use really depends on your goal. Keep in mind that your hair is not going to experience less breakage with the application of essential oils. They are not moisturizing, and since your hair is 'dead' the plant compounds have very little effect other than aroma on your length. Most essential oil uses target the scalp as they can be absorbed into the skin around the hair root.

Carrier oils themselves are also not moisturizing.

Stealing this from my blog:

THE MYTH ABOUT MOISTURIZING OIL