PDA

View Full Version : Protective hair wraps for sleeping?

Mlarmour
March 17th, 2018, 05:46 PM
I’m new to the whole protective styles for sleeping, and I was wondering if there is anything like a wrap or something I could put on my hair to protect it at night.
I can be a pretty violent sleeper with all my tossing and turning, I’ve been known to pull out chunks of hair in my sleep before, so I want to protect my hair as much as possible. I’ve found sleeping in braids to be uncomfortable and having my hair down isn’t protecting it. My hair seems to be best protected when I’m sleeping in oils overnight and have clingfilmed my head to keep the heat it. It’s the only time I don’t wiggle out or rip off what’s on my hair like I did the shower cap or that one time I used a hat when I deep conditioned overnight.

If anyone has any other suggestions I’m open to them.

Sarahlabyrinth
March 17th, 2018, 06:04 PM
I use a sleep cap from Adorabellababy on Etsy, they are excellent, and greatly reduce tangling!

Larki
March 17th, 2018, 06:26 PM
Seconding the adorabellababy cap! You could also braid it and wrap the braid with a silk scarf. If you move a lot in your sleep, you'll need an eye mask or something to keep the cap on your head.

Ophidian
March 18th, 2018, 12:08 PM
I braid and wrap in a silk scarf. It took me a bit of trial and error, but I found a few ways of tying it that stay on all night and I can be a pretty restless sleeper.

hayheadsbird
March 20th, 2018, 03:11 PM
I'm literally sitting in bed with a sleep cap on for the first time. Looking forward to seeing if I can actually keep it on all night, but have to say it's pretty comfortable so far!

cathair
March 20th, 2018, 04:26 PM
I've been happily using slumbernets for six months now:

https://farm5.staticflickr.com/4382/36370562950_9e98cc17da_z.jpg

Advantages over a sleep cap for me are:

- Doesn't get in my eyes
- Not so tight on my head
- Very lightweight compared to a sleep cap