PDA

View Full Version : If dandruff shampoo doesn't help, does that mean it's not dandruff?

NightingaleLHC
October 30th, 2008, 07:24 AM
I've tried so many different things, and I continue to get little flakes! Dandruff shampoo helped for a while, but I just washed by hair this morning and there they are again!

What else could it be besides dandruff?

rymorg2
October 30th, 2008, 07:29 AM
I've tried so many different things, and I continue to get little flakes! Dandruff shampoo helped for a while, but I just washed by hair this morning and there they are again!

I'm a stylist....it could be any number of things. Some people's heads get used to a certain dandruff shampoo and have to switch it around to get it to work again. Not all dandruff shampoos have the same medicine in them. It could also be build up on the scalp though, depending on what you use on it. I get SOME flakes still, but since I've switched to all nautral products and nothing chemical I don't get the itching/flaking like I used to. I'm chemically sensitive though.

Periwinkle
October 30th, 2008, 07:31 AM
I've heard that ACV rinses can help with all sorts of flaky problems.

Have you considered that it might be dandruff that just keeps coming back? I had this problem a while ago, and while dandruff shampoo helped, it didn't solve it. Google told me that something found in white bread (which I eat waaaaay too much of) can cause dandruff if you consume it in large quantities. I cut down on eating white bread and my dandruff pretty much vanished.

NightingaleLHC
October 30th, 2008, 08:27 AM
Hm, interesting suggestions, thank you.

I will try switching to another dandruff shampoo with a different main ingredient.

I don't eat a lot of white bread, so I don't think that could be it, but that is an interesting thought. Perhaps it could be something else I am eating.

I will try ACV rinse, though I don't recall that helping in the past.