PDA

View Full Version : Tired of washing oily hair every day

elfs
February 9th, 2018, 04:19 PM
I'm a newbie to the forums, I've lurked for a little while and read a good handful of wash threads, and I've been looking up how to combat my greasy hair for a while now, but to no avail. The best it gets is when I shower with a men's 2-in-1 as shampoo, and then I believe Pantene's volumizing conditioner, in my partner's shower. It will stay clean looking all day and for an hour or two the next, but by mid day, it's looking greasy if I haven't loaded up on dry shampoo. At home, I use Biotera volumizing shampoo and conditioner. The next morning, it'll look stringy, flat, and have that oily shine begin to show its ugly head. It's always the roots and face framing layers, I should mention. The rest of my hair is fine and looks like it could go a few days without a wash!

I've had people tell me that, no matter what, I shouldn't need to wash it every day. Some even tell me it's bad for my hair - never professionals, however, just friends and peers that think they're being helpful. I've tried for a month or two biting the bullet and letting it be greasy the second day, just to see if it'll even itself out, but it hasn't yet. I've tried using a clarifying shampoo before, but it's been a while - I intend on buying more today.

Could it be the shampoo I'm using? I often buy Ion or Biotera rather than grocery store brands. Biotera is paraben free, but I don't believe I've seen anyone here discuss dropping them, just silicones and sulfates. I think I'll search for products free of these today as well.