PDA

View Full Version : Fishtail fuzziness

pixi_stix
January 29th, 2018, 04:04 PM
Hi guys. I finally leaned how to fishtail braid. Yay me. My problem is when I try to take them out the next day, even though I am really careful, my hair tangles, knots and frizzes like a curly who drags a brush through their hair. :eek:
My hair info as best as I can describe it;
My length is Tail bone. My last trim was two weeks ago (4" cut)
It is fine and very thin, and stick straight, and only gets a bit of life in it when I use protein treatment, which is rare.
I only use natural shampoo and conditioner (Natures Best, or Lush Honey shampoo and American cream conditioner). I was twice a week.
I don't use hair spray or styling products.
I rarely use heat (Use a hair-dryer approx 4 times a year)
I don't dye my hair, though I have been using Lush Henna for a couple of years.
I use Argon oil after washes, and ACV rinse straight out of the shower.

If anyone has any tips on how to undo fishtail braids without the knots and frizz, I'd appreciate it. I really love these braids, and can only do these and English braids.

TIA
Pixi. :p

lapushka
January 29th, 2018, 04:07 PM
How far down are you braiding? Maybe try and leave a bigger tassel?

FrayedFire
January 29th, 2018, 04:08 PM
How are you undoing the braid and detangling it?

pixi_stix
January 29th, 2018, 04:08 PM
Thank you for your reply. My tassle is 5 to 6 inches long. My hair is too thin at the ends to go much further down.

@FrayedFire. I am unpicking it with the tips of my fingers. It gets so knotted, I have to lather it with oils, and it's still a struggle

FrayedFire
January 29th, 2018, 04:33 PM
Hmm... I don't really like fishtails because they do lead to more tangling just because of how they're done, but that's pretty bad just for one day and such a long tassel. How about when you're doing the braid, maybe there's an issue there? Wet, damp, dry, oiled? What method are you using to braid, how thick are you making the strands?