PDA

View Full Version : Fine Hair - Constant Split Ends

MezyMinzy
December 23rd, 2017, 09:39 PM
Hey everyone!

I've been growing my hair out for about 6 years, by now it is down to my waist. My issue now though seems to be damage and split ends. For example, I cut off an inch and a half to two inches less than three weeks ago to get rid of split ends. My hair felt great for about two-three days and now it is once again filled with dead ends. I don't know what to do with it at this point, I just want soft and shiny hair, not damaged ends that feel like straw.

My hair: very thin strands but I have a ton of hair so it looks thicker than it is.

Routine: Shampoo with Vatika Black seed shampoo just on my roots (not partial to that shampoo, it just doesnt leave my hair greasy), then apply a Vatika hot hair mask as a conditioner. This is not supposed to be used as a conditioner but the product has done wonders for my hair - usually in winter my hair just feels brittle and straw-like, and completely disgusting. Now just the ends feel that way. After putting the conditioner in, I put my hair up in a bun with some clips and leave it in while I do the rest of my shower routine. Then wash out. I only wash my hair twice a week, usually on Wednesday and Sunday. I oil my hair for at least an hour every time I wash it, and sometimes even do a leave-in treatment after washing. And yet by the third day my hair feels gross and dry again.

Car: No heat products, I only blow dry my hair for special occasions maybe once every few months. Other than that the only heat my hair sees is in the shower (not crazy hot though) I don't use a brush, just get knots out with my fingers. Keep my hair up for the most part; braids and bun.