PDA

View Full Version : Winter issues

Nyrak
December 5th, 2017, 12:47 PM
Noob here. Have been lurking and drooling over all the gorgeous hair photos and reading tons. But still not sure what to try for my hair.

Currently it is passing armpit. Fine hair medium thickness. No heat ever. Shampoo with the cheap sulfate/cone conditioner that was on sale. Used to water only wash. Will switch over to sulfate free soon. That’s the background.

The issues I’d like to troubleshoot are these:

Oil: right now I only have olive and canola in the house. Need something lighter and afraid to try coconut

Winter: my hair is insanely staticky all winter long. I am prone to eczema on my hands due to cold air in winter and my scalp is itchy and dry probably but I have no flakes.

Cones: they make my hair super soft but weigh it down and I loose a lot of volume and waviness. Does anyone have any recommendations for cone free conditioners?

CO wash: I am up for trying this but I don’t know what product to start with?

All of this aside my hair is relatively healthy and I am growing it out from chin length. Only trimmed once last year and will go no trim for 2018.

I know this is a long post. Thanks for reading this far!

Sarahlabyrinth
December 5th, 2017, 12:54 PM
Welcome here and happy growing! :D

Groovy Granny
December 5th, 2017, 12:54 PM
Welcome :waving:

My hair is fine and wispy and the oils you mentioned are too heavy for me.

Mineral (baby) oil is a cheap/easily accessible oil to use (on damp or dry air); it is light and just a couple of drops will do ya' ;)

Lucky Vitamin has some lovely rose oil mixtures from that I use for hair and body.

Biosilk Lite Serum is great for taming static, humidity frizz/poof, and defining my wurls.

I tried CO washing but my scalp needs sulfates and my hair needs cones; Joico is my preferred brand of S&C.