PDA

View Full Version : Coloring ends of hair

lunasea
October 30th, 2017, 08:32 PM
So, I was wishing for a little more fun in my hair routine. I've been growing out dye for 3 years now and I'm kinda bored. Most of my hair is ashy but the ends are really light and pretty thin where they were repeatedly bleached. I've thought about trimming them but they make it easy to put my hair in a bun and I never wear my hair down so...it doesn't really matter if they are thin.

Anyway, I was thinking about dyeing the last couple inches. I initially thought about using henna which would be great for fall BUT I might want the ends to be a different color (maybe even purple...gasp!) in the spring. So I was wondering if anyone knows about any dye that I can use that will wash completely out after a few washes so that I could change it for something else or just let it go natural again. I don't have any experience with self-dyeing but I think, given that my ends have been repeatedly bleached, I might have trouble getting color out of them and I wouldn't want to use anything that would damage them further so I'm looking for something that is deposit only.

Any ideas?

Katia_k
October 30th, 2017, 09:14 PM
Have you looked at vegetable dyes, like Manic Panic or Directions or Special Effects? In theory these should come out after a month, maybe a little less, maybe a little more. I haven't used them but I've been researching because I wanna try stuff on my hair, and I don't think it would survive real dye. So these may be what you're looking for, and would be super easy to apply to your ends.

psyc2321
October 30th, 2017, 10:35 PM
I’ve put Manic Panic in my ends before. It did fade out eventually, but not for months - I wash about twice a week, and my hair, while virgin, is porous from chemo drugs, so probably is comparable to dye damaged hair in its absorption.

It did look pretty though, I’ll see if I can find you a photo!

psyc2321
October 30th, 2017, 11:04 PM