PDA

View Full Version : Heavy oiling and rice water rinse - match made in heaven or too much?

MamaSwanky
October 6th, 2017, 03:36 PM
Curious what you all think about doing a heavy oiling and rice water rinse before cleaning hair. I've only ever done one or the other at a time so I'm curious to see what you all think about doing them both. I'm planning to do a heavy oiling tonight, keep it in for at least 24 hours, do a rice water rinse before showering, wash and condition like normal, then follow it up with a tea rinse. Too much?

Sarahlabyrinth
October 6th, 2017, 03:54 PM
I've never tried it, so can't help. Maybe just try it and see?

MamaSwanky
October 6th, 2017, 04:48 PM
I'm still getting the hang of what does what to hair. I generally know what oils do - condition and strengthen happy because of fatty acids and vitamins and whatnot. I've been oiling consistently for over a year and have learned what oils my hair does and doesn't like. I'm still learning what fermented rice water rinsing does, but my hair seems to like it so I want to continue. I guess I'm curious what treatments do what and how they interact overall. Time to start a hair log and keep track of how my hair reacts to different things.

Sarahlabyrinth
October 6th, 2017, 05:10 PM
I'm still getting the hang of what does what to hair. I generally know what oils do - condition and strengthen happy because of fatty acids and vitamins and whatnot. I've been oiling consistently for over a year and have learned what oils my hair does and doesn't like. I'm still learning what fermented rice water rinsing does, but my hair seems to like it so I want to continue. I guess I'm curious what treatments do what and how they interact overall. Time to start a hair log and keep track of how my hair reacts to different things.

That's a great idea, to work out what works for you.

TatsuOni
October 7th, 2017, 04:03 AM
I sometimes do this and it works for me :)

MamaSwanky
October 7th, 2017, 11:27 AM