PDA

View Full Version : No heat?

Redderly
September 13th, 2017, 07:03 PM
Hello everyone!

I am relatively new to the LHC, but one of my newest challenges for myself is to limit if not completely ban all heat on my hair. If I must use heat, it is only from a blow dryer on warm with heat protection added.

Are there any others out there that have banned using heating tools? How long have you been doing it and has it changed your hair at all? What other ways do you style without the use if heat?

Thanks for the advice in advance!

MoonRabbit
September 13th, 2017, 07:42 PM
I stopped using heat two years ago. It was the best decision I ever made for my hair. It looks and feels so much better. My natural waves are no longer just frizz and it grows faster than it ever did before. As for other ways of style, I usually just put my hair into dutch braids for extra waves. Right now I prefer to enjoy my natural texture for what it is.

Sarahlabyrinth
September 13th, 2017, 07:57 PM
I haven't really ever used heat on my hair. I figure if it's not good on my skin, my hair won't like it either. I will sometimes use my hairdryer on warm, but hold it about 10" away from my hair. It really pays off to keep away from heat tools if you want happy healthy hair :) Hair, unlike skin, doesn't repair itself when damaged.

nat_brunette
September 13th, 2017, 11:37 PM
I haven't used any heating tools since December, 2015, and that was the first time since September of 2015.

I used to dye my hair blonde a few times a year, used heating tools almost daily, used highly concentrated shampoos and shampooed almost every day because I worked in a smoky club.
When I was saved by Jesus, I felt strongly led by the Holy Spirit to not use these things on my hair anymore, so I heeded that voice and my hair has never been better.