PDA

View Full Version : Where's the volume control on this thing? :p

MandaMom2Three
October 28th, 2008, 06:03 AM
Ok, I am very happily attaining the length I want, and while it's doing it's thing I would like to focus on the volume. My hair always looked like it had volume before, but it was due to the frizz. Now that I've lost the frizz, I can really see the lack of volume (to give you an idea, all my hair pulled together is only the diameter of my finger, and I have very small hands!). Since I saw in another thread the recommendation to work on volume, I'm assuming there are things I can do to help this. I am still a hair care newb :o so ANY advice on how to increase thickness is welcome! :)

MandaMom2Three
October 29th, 2008, 07:24 PM
*BUMP*

Quit holding out on me! You have tips, I KNOW you do!!! ;)

kschr2004
October 29th, 2008, 07:39 PM
I have thicker hair than you but it's very straight and therefore I have issues with volume as well. I find that volumizing shampoos and conditioners work the best for me. Also, I try to wash only about every three days - day 3 gives me my best volume.

spidermom
October 29th, 2008, 07:43 PM
To maintain volume, trimming is essential. It gives slower-growing hairs a chance to catch up to faster growing hairs. You have to find the balance, though. Keep records and make sure you only trim half or less of your growth every 2-3 months. Untrimmed hair can thin out fast.

MandaMom2Three
October 29th, 2008, 07:59 PM
Hmmmmm, I see. Well, I guess I'll focus on the length for now and wait on the volume until I reach my target. I've tried volumizing products and never really saw any noticeable difference. I'm also still tossing the idea of henna around. Haven't made up my mind on that one yet.

kschr2004
October 29th, 2008, 08:09 PM
What volumizing products have you tried? Some of the ones that I tried were better than others. I actually find that Avalon Organics volumizing shampoo and conditioner work really well for me.