PDA

View Full Version : Any Long Haired Educators Out There?

marvel-lover
August 23rd, 2017, 07:56 AM
I apologize if there is already a thread for this. I searched but couldn't find one.

Anyway, I'm in my last year of college, studying to be a special education teacher. This coming semester, which starts next week, has me in moderate/intensive classrooms, 4 days a week. The spring semester has me student teaching (yay!!).

I was wondering if there were any other teachers out there? If so, how do you prefer to wear your hair in the classroom? How do you prevent paint and all sorts of other classroom materials from getting into your hair?

daywalker
August 23rd, 2017, 12:02 PM
I'm not sure if her hair qualifies as long in a place like this, but my aunt is a kindergarten teacher with BSL hair. Amazingly, she either leaves it down (!!) or pulls it into a low ponytail. Also she uses a big jaw clip to make a twist updo with the ends sticking out. She's never complained about stuff happening to her hair. When I watched her move about the classroom, she just seemed to be aware of where her hair was and flick it back, if that makes sense. I can't believe the kids didn't pull it or put stuff in it!

hayheadsbird
August 23rd, 2017, 03:27 PM
Bun everyday. It's only just waist, but long enough to get in the way when working. Keeps most of the glue and paint out of it...

Quixii
August 23rd, 2017, 03:44 PM
I'm working on getting my teaching credential and have taught for a few months in a school, and I just wear my hair however I would normally - which means 95% time up in a bun. I wore it in a ponytail once to shock my students, and they were shocked!

school of fish
August 23rd, 2017, 04:03 PM
I teach dance, so on that score I don't really think my experience is applicable - but I have an 11-yr-old with autism who has been in Spec Ed his whole school career, so I can tell you what I've noticed about his teachers' hair ;)