PDA

View Full Version : Stuck in the Bad Hair Zone

Fashionista522
August 13th, 2017, 07:41 AM
hello there! I'm new to the LHC. Since 3/2016, my hair has been "bad". I went to a hairdresser who used a razor on my long, wavy (2a/2b) hair. Since then, I've tried to maintain my length while repairing my hair. It doesn't seem to be working. Last week, my new hairdresser ignored my request for long layers and gave me a choppy do. I could (and have) cried. He also continues to use texturizing sheers.

My questions are:
1. Has anyone been through a similar nightmare? If so, how long did it take for your former hair to return?
2. Are texturizing sheers bad for hair?
3. How did you survive a bad haircut? I feel awful about myself, and I need some help for moving forward until it grows out.

Photo (before/after): https://imgur.com/a/UlzKU

dryxi
August 13th, 2017, 08:34 AM
Hello, welcome!

I don't have a lot in the way of practical advice, but two things stuck out to me:
1. If your hairdresser is intentionally ignoring your wishes, do not go back to him. It's not his job to give you a haricut that he wants, but to give you the haircut you want. If that means long layers, no razoring, shaving your head... whatever. The decision is yours. The first time might have been a misunderstanding, but the second sounds deliberate.

2. Check out "microtimming" in the Mane forum. It's a strategy for trimming hair while maintaining length. Basically, the principle is that you trim very small amounts of hair at a time. It takes a lot longer to remove damage and/or layers, but this way you don't have to chop your hair to your shortest layer.

Finally, while I appreciate you are very unhappy about your recent haircut, I don't think it looks bad on you. You might check out some YouTube videos of different hairstyles for your length to help you feel better about yourself. (I really like Milabu for shorter hair, but yours is a bit longer than hers.) Hope that helps!

Fashionista522