PDA

View Full Version : Help with protective styles

xoChesleyy
July 20th, 2017, 06:33 PM
Hello LHCers! :) So, I am a COMPLETE newbie when it comes to hairstyles, especially protective styles...

I was mostly wearing my hair in a braid but I am trying to wear strictly updos to prevent additional tangling and to protect my ends.

I use spin pins and normally wear a cinnabun, because that's the only style I know how to do with my spin pins! The past two nights, I've woke up with my hair down because the bun fell down...Not sure if I just move around too much in my sleep or if I'm not doing them secure enough. :confused: Quite frustrating, though!

I recently got a hair cut recently so my hair is relatively short at the moment-- Around BSL, I think? I'm trying to not pay very much attention to the length at the moment so I don't stress it! Could anyone recommend me some simple protective hairstyles I could do at this length using spin pins? All the help is much appreciated!

Thank you! :blossom:

Frankenstein
July 20th, 2017, 09:26 PM
Have you thought about trying forks or sticks instead? I'm not a huge fan of spin pins and the only buns I can use them for are cinnabuns or figure 8s.

Corvana
July 20th, 2017, 10:28 PM
For sleeping, maybe try a sleep cap of some sort? Then you can just have your hair loose in it, but it's satin or silk or whatever so it reduces tangles and damage.

Deborah
July 20th, 2017, 11:50 PM
A flipped bun is a pretty variation of a cinnamon bun that is easy to do and holds better than the cinnamon bun. The flipped bun holds very well with spin buns, as does a French twist.

I would not recommend sleeping in a bun. I think it puts too much pressure on the scalp. For sleep a plain single braid down the back works very well to protect the hair from tangling. I just flip it up over the pillow.

Sarahlabyrinth
July 21st, 2017, 12:46 AM