PDA

View Full Version : Moisture vs. Protein - HELP!

MrsDay
July 17th, 2017, 09:42 AM
Sort of a Newbie here... and my ends are feeling so dry and are splitting like crazy. I am scheduled for a trim, but I don't know what's causing the issue! Below is some info on my routine, and then my overall question:

Routine: Wash every 3rd day, CWC, Argan Oil on the ends while hair is still damp as a "leave in" moisturizer. Once per week prior to my shower I do an Olaplex No.3 hair mask to help strengthen my ends as I'm growing out bleach/highlights.

Question: My ends are dry so I assume they need moisture - using oils (argan or coconut) seems to make them greasy but then once the oil soaks in/rubs off the ends still feel dry. I am experiencing a fast occurrence of splits as well as some breakage. Do I need protein? How do you put protein into your hair other than through your diet?

If there are any threads or resources you can link me to it would be much appreciated, otherwise I am thankful for any of your advice.

diddiedaisy
July 17th, 2017, 09:52 AM
Sort of a Newbie here... and my ends are feeling so dry and are splitting like crazy. I am scheduled for a trim, but I don't know what's causing the issue! Below is some info on my routine, and then my overall question:

Routine: Wash every 3rd day, CWC, Argan Oil on the ends while hair is still damp as a "leave in" moisturizer. Once per week prior to my shower I do an Olaplex No.3 hair mask to help strengthen my ends as I'm growing out bleach/highlights.

Question: My ends are dry so I assume they need moisture - using oils (argan or coconut) seems to make them greasy but then once the oil soaks in/rubs off the ends still feel dry. I am experiencing a fast occurrence of splits as well as some breakage. Do I need protein? How do you put protein into your hair other than through your diet?

If there are any threads or resources you can link me to it would be much appreciated, otherwise I am thankful for any of your advice.