PDA

View Full Version : Am I over-clarifying?

oatmeal1991
July 9th, 2017, 01:06 PM
A few months ago I asked for advice as to why my hair might not be absorbing any moister, and after following the advice to try clarifying, my hair is feeling much better! I'm worried though about getting caught in a cycle of needing to clarify every week now. When I try to clarify less, my roots gets greasy pretty fast, and any other shampoo I use leaves a buildup and doesn't make my hair feel clean. Am I going to destroy my hair? It's already on the dry side, so I'm scared I'm going to start making it worse again. Oh, and if it matters, I'm using the Suave clarifying shampoo.

Obsidian
July 9th, 2017, 02:16 PM
I've been washing every other day with that same shampoo for over two years now and it's not ruined my hair. I don't think you have have anything to worry about.

katieing
July 9th, 2017, 02:19 PM
I think it depends on how often you wash your hair in between clarifying, and if you are using cone-y products. For example, if you wash four times a week using a very coney conditioner, then it may be suitable to clarify every other week. I would say it's safe to lay off the clarifying for a while, though; if you say your hair is dry, it might be that the sulfates in the clarifying shampoo are too much for your hair. You won't destroy your hair through clarifying often, but it will be less healthy than it could be.

I think you should try to extend the time between clarifying washes and see how your hair feels (every other week instead of every week, etc). If your hair still feels dry, maybe clarify less or do some DTs.

lapushka
July 9th, 2017, 04:19 PM
I wash weekly, I clarify weekly (sometimes - lengths, other times + lengths). My hair is fine after some 10 odd years.

Anje
July 9th, 2017, 05:54 PM