PDA

View Full Version : Shy about wearing hair up?

Nono
June 5th, 2017, 03:49 PM
Hey guys! I'm a newbie so I hope I'm not posting this in the wrong place :p
I love updo's on other people but I don't do them on myself often because I get self conscious, worried that the hairstyle is looking messy, weird or just unflattering. It doesn't help that my hair is thin and fine and therefore often shows some weird bald spots with some styles :bigeyes: I'm getting more relaxed over time and I think in a few months I'll wear updo's more comfortably (gotta protect the length) but is this normal? Also, I've been following the fine hair thread but is there any thread specific for hairstyles for thin fine hair? Thanks! :o

Aredhel
June 5th, 2017, 04:01 PM
I have a very round face so I had always been super self-conscious about wearing it up, because no matter what I do, wearing my hair up makes my face appear rounder... there's just no way around that.:) I guess I just got used to it after doing it for a while and stopped caring about it so much. It was the same for me and "scalp cleavage" too, because my hair is on the thinner side... when some hairs aren't cooperating/going in the direction that I'm combing, a sliver of scalp will show that makes it look like I'm balding. I just had to learn to get over that too.:p

There are a plethora of hairstyles available, most hairstyles that you see floating around the forum will work for thin hair as well as thick. Try the Hairstyle of the Month (http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/forumdisplay.php?f=48) subforum for inspiration.:) Plenty of pictures from members with both thick and thin hair.

Nono
June 5th, 2017, 05:07 PM
Thank you! I've been checking the hairstyles of the month subforum and I already added some hairstyles to the "to try" list. I guess I'll soon get used to it :D

cendyrellaaa
June 5th, 2017, 08:35 PM