PDA

View Full Version : Is waist length hair in a ponytail too much if you work in a hospital?

Sweetalexandria
May 31st, 2017, 12:21 PM
I have waist length hair and I really like my hair in a high ponytail. I have a full face and I feel like a ponytail makes my face look more defined. The only problem is that because it's long, thick and can be fluffy and prone to getting into tangles, I feel like I might look unprofessional at work.

I am tired of plaiting my hair as I have had this hairstyle for a couple of years . And I feel like I need a change. I want my hair in a ponytail but because I work in a hospital, would that waist length hair look odd?. I'm just wondering if anyone else has worn their hair long in a ponytail in a hospital?. I'm even thinking of cutting my hair.

sarahthegemini
May 31st, 2017, 12:33 PM
Personally I think hair that long needs to be more contained when in a hospital. It's a hazard otherwise.

mira-chan
May 31st, 2017, 12:36 PM
I work in a lab, so have to have my hair tied back as well. I would be wary of wearing a long ponytail in a hospital if you work with patients or any biohazard as your hair can fall forward and touch something you really don't want it to touch.

Why not bun the ponytail. A high bun might be an alternative for the ponytail?

I wear my hair fully up at work. If I have any experiment work to do, I won't even braid, it will be up and away from my work materials.

lithostoic
May 31st, 2017, 12:36 PM
I don't even work at a hospital and I keep my (almost) waist length hair braided or bunned for work. Having a ponytail at BSL+ is basically like having your hair loose.

Cut it off??? Why can't you just put it in a bun?

Prism
May 31st, 2017, 12:43 PM
Former nurse here. Your hair should be more contained. It shouldn't be whipping around when you move, and it will be in a ponytail and even a single braid. I'd just put it up in a bun. Don't you think if you cut it you'll regret it? Buns are easy.

lapushka