PDA

View Full Version : Coconut Oil

peachfairy
May 12th, 2017, 12:44 PM
Hello,
I'm new to the long hair community so it's nice to meet you!
Today I bought some coconut oil for my hair after hearing on multiple YouTube videos that it was good to help with hair growth. Is there any particular way I should apply it? And, does anyone have any tips on using coconut oil that might increase my chances of success with it?
Thank you! 🐥

ShilvaA
May 12th, 2017, 12:48 PM
Definitely warm it up before applying! I also just apply a bit to the ends of my hair everyday to help protect them from too much damage from rubbing on my work polo etc.
It smells so wonderful, I love it!

Prism
May 12th, 2017, 12:56 PM
I like to take my finger and scratch the surface of the oil, then rub it between my hands to melt it. Then I spread it on my hair from root to ends followed by donning a plastic cap and using my heated cap. It requires a good wash after that to get the oil out, but it's always so much softer when I'm finished.

Aredhel
May 12th, 2017, 01:23 PM
If you've never used it before, use with caution. The first (and only) time I tried it, I shed a LOT and lost a lot of hair. I'd avoid putting any on your scalp if you have an oily scalp and thin hair. Also it's not a miracle elixir that will magically help your hair grow faster, but it can definitely nourish your hair and scalp to aid you in growing healthier hair. :)

Nique1202
May 12th, 2017, 06:03 PM
Nothing you apply to your scalp will really help with hair growth, except for medicated shampoos to treat scalp conditions. Coconut oil works great for some people to help protect the length and ends hair from friction and mechanical damage, which reduces breakage for some folks from those causes, which makes it seem like it's increasing growth.

Things to beware of:
-Some people can't use coconut oil at all, because it makes their hair crunchy and makes it susceptible to break off even more.