View Full Version : Can I do something like this without a lot of damage?

-arachne-
April 10th, 2017, 09:47 PM
Hey guys,

I have hair that is about at classic length right now. I've had long hair for years at this point, and since I'm a vet tech, I find myself pretty much always wearing my hair up in the same bun. (My hair also knots easily so it's really discouraged me from wearing it down.) Needless to say, this is getting kind of... boring. I love my hair and I love the satisfaction of letting it down at the end of the day, but I'm SO plain the majority of the time.

I also find myself pining a little for my punk teen years :p I've been toying with the idea of adding some color - which I have never done before - instead of going for a chop that I might really regret.

So I am wondering, can I do something like these...

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/b8/6e/4e/b86e4e56e986083af43ea0f206d89bd6.jpg
https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/07/0b/30/070b30915872ba8aebfc906ff6c94833.jpg

...Without horrendously damaging my hair? I only wash my length about once a month and I don't use heat on it. I'm assuming I would have the bleach for this..? But I really don't know. (I'm brunette.)

Thanks!

cassidy_2711
April 10th, 2017, 09:49 PM
I would try a strip of hair with just dye because depending on your hair color you may not need bleach.

-arachne-
April 10th, 2017, 09:54 PM
Hm... good plan. It's medium to dark brown. The only reason I don't say dark is because I have a fair amount of red/gold in my hair.

I guess my only issue is that I'd probably get it done at a salon, because I wouldn't trust myself not to butcher it. Then again, I'd also have to find a salon I trusted not to kill my hair!

Anje
April 10th, 2017, 10:08 PM