PDA

View Full Version : Who trims their own hair and why?

The Maple Leaf
March 29th, 2017, 11:51 PM
I have been cutting my own hair for 17 years, with only one visit to a barber/hairstylist in that time, almost 15 years ago. I thought it would be interesting for those of us who don't go to a hairdresser's to share our reasons why. My reasons are:

1. I just don't enjoy the experience of sitting in a chair with a cape around my neck with someone toting sharp objects around my head and fretting that their instruments may not have been sterilized and may harbor infections.

2. I save money.

3. Even if I were to accept the expense of #2, I resent tipping and you're expected to tip hairdressers where I'm from.

4. I don't have to worry that they will do something different from what I want.

lizardspots
March 30th, 2017, 12:14 AM
I rarely go to hair dressers, the last time was 2 years ago. I have been self-trimming my bangs and my length since. My reasons are:
1. I really hate having to do small talk with the hair dresser. I know this is a lame reason, but it is a major factor for me. I am inherently antisocial
2. I am never quite satisfied with the cut I've received, and I end up saying I like it just to have the ordeal over with
3. Expensive

Yarrow
March 30th, 2017, 12:21 AM
I trim my own hair because I usually trim on whim. If i want to trim on full moon on midnight, i just trim it then. So I don't need an appointment. I also save time, money and if it goes wrong then I only have myself to blame.

littlestarface
March 30th, 2017, 12:29 AM
I do it myself cuz I know what i want and how I want it plus

1. I cant show my hair in public outside
2. I don't wanna waste so much time just to go walking to a far place and waste a whole day on something I can do at home
3. i rather spend the money on parfum
4. Everyone always cuts it wrong or i'm not clear enough or like my sister will cut too much off and say see it looks much better now :rolleyes:

Crystawni