PDA

View Full Version : Treatments for dry, fine hair? Where to begin?

Aredhel
February 23rd, 2017, 07:17 AM
Hi ladies and gents!

I'm not *too* new to this forum (I had been a member since 2009, but I could no longer access my old account after a few years' hiatus so made a new one), but I am pretty brand new to hair care and am looking for some guidance on where to begin with it. I have super fine Asian hair, for the past 15 years of my life, I've just shampooed and conditioned every single day because I have an oily scalp (unfortunately along with dry hair), I would occasionally add some Argan oil to the ends of my damp hair when I remembered to, but that's about all the care I've been taking of it. I bleached my hair about 3 years ago to an ombre... terrible mistake, but I'm growing all of that damage out right now, so dealing with a lot of straw ends.

I have a ~50" hair goal, so I'm about 15" off from it... a few years away. I'm realizing that the only way I can achieve that goal is if I baby my hair from this point on. I've gotten to the point of only washing my hair once or twice a week now (yay stick buns!!), but I want to begin deep conditioning my hair. I have no idea where to begin though, since I've never done such a thing before. I realize everyone's hair and scalp are different, but would with hair similar to mine be able to guide me in the right direction? I could really use a few pointers on what oil concoctions (like types of oils for deep conditioning, regular conditioning, masks, etc.) I maybe should experiment with, ex., does anyone have some recipes that I can borrow? :) I really want to develop a healthy hair routine but I'm not sure at all where to begin!! I've done some extensive online research but it just all seems so overwhelming. I'm not even sure I want to use commercial shampoo anymore either!

Thank you in advance my dears ♥ And it's lovely to be back on the forum! I missed the atmosphere here. :)

Aredhel