PDA

View Full Version : Tips for a newbie

Byebyebleach
February 15th, 2017, 04:12 AM
Calling upon all your many wisdoms LHC. I am a total newb at growing my hair, I have never consciously thought about growing my hair which is how I have ended up with ruined bleached, hair that I have had to chop to shoulder length to get rid of most of the peroxide.

So please throw all of your tips on this thread, what you think works, what doesn't, what is a myth, what is fact. How to keep hair from splitting. How to keep it healthy. How to make it grow. Products you like. Products you hate. Surprising tips. Obvious tips. Completely wacko tips. Anything and everything you can think because I have no clue.

Thanks Lisa. :rolling::rolling:

Arctic
February 15th, 2017, 04:31 AM
Welcome! My best tip: read and participate the threads :) And second: learn to know your hair. Happy growing and enjoy the journey! (That was the third tip!)

Tosca
February 15th, 2017, 05:19 AM
When your hair is long enough, buns are your friend. Also, be gentle when detangling, none of that awful ripping motion. Start from the bottom! I currently use a wide tooth comb to get tangles out, followed by a medium tooth comb to get shed hair and small knots out.

With regard to bleached hair, a good place to start is with a protein treatment (redken anti snap, at home gelatine etc), and maybe look into CO washing, where you use conditioner as shampoo. There is a big thread on it in the "Useful Links - hair help" sticky at the top of the forums.

OhSuzi
February 15th, 2017, 05:30 AM
There's a thread for just about every length goal, super shorties pixies and buzz cuts growing their hair out, one for chin to shoulder length etc.
There a thread for growing the bleach out.
There are threads on tips for growing in general & what works & what people think is faddy.
So join some of these and get reading / chattin.

In the same way there's no real rocket science to getting slim n healthy - the basics are