PDA

View Full Version : Trim Suggestions

Kae612
February 1st, 2017, 07:03 PM
So I haven't had a trim since I got my hair cut two years ago (and I've gone to the same hairdresser since I was 12....). I'm enjoying the length rn and I don't want to cut it much, but I do have some split ends. Over the summer I bought some hair scissors for Search & Destroy, but I am not good at it at all. I don't have very good lighting in my house, and I see splits often when I'm outside or on the bus, and then I never find them again.

So, there's a "barbers for cancer research" event at my school coming up, where you don't have to donate hair, but trims are $6 and an additional monetary donation of your choosing. It's a good organization (directly going to research, not like the ~for the cause/cure~ stuff that's more iffy), so I will probably drop by to give money anyway. But I am thinking about possibly getting a trim.

In addition to some breakage/splits, I am growing out layers from that haircut 2 years ago, and while I don't mind the fairytale/tapered ends I'm getting, I think the full hemlines look awesome and I wouldn't mind levelling things out a little bit. Not all of them off, because that would be quite a bit of length, probably 4 inches or so.

My question is, is this event something you would trust with your hair? it says "professional barbers" but there isn't any more information given than that. I wouldn't ask for anything complicated, obviously, just a straight across trim.

Also, is a trim that's an inch or less likely worthwhile? Or should it be at least 2 inches, especially considering the layers?

(If any of these questions are dumb and unanswerable let me know ;))

Dark40
February 1st, 2017, 07:15 PM
I would suggest getting a little trimmed off like 1cm once a month. If you're trying to get rid of damage and split ends. Especially, if you want to still keep the length.

lapushka
February 2nd, 2017, 05:56 AM