PDA

View Full Version : Help: curls/waves have no definition?

Leigh.
January 26th, 2017, 11:41 PM
Hi everyone,

I've been doing the Curly Girl method to some extent for 3-4 years now, but need some help in troubleshooting a problem.

My hair is 2A F (baby fine), and I cannot for the life of me get my hair to have defined waves/curls. On a good day, it looks more like this (https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/471890256610856964/ujXz-GJU.jpeg), but then after day 1, it gets pretty flat and undefined (like this (http://imgur.com/a/quv6V)).

I've tried everything from protein treatments w/ gelatin (because I suspected over-moisturizing), co-washing vs lo-poo, and clarifying w/ baking soda.

My current products are:

Shampoo: Giovanni Root 66
Condish: Suave Essentials Coconut
Gel: Giovanni LA or Giovanni Magnetic Styling Gel
Leave-in: SheaMoisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie

Is there a simple adjustment I need to make, or am I doing it all wrong? Would love some help from the LHC ladies. Thanks!!

lapushka
January 27th, 2017, 02:50 AM
You always have to work with what you've got, and also be *realistic* about it. :flower: 2a isn't going to morph into curls, but you know that full well, I'm sure. If you're already doing CG, then that's about the most moisture you can get in there. Maybe it's too much. Maybe you need to switch it up with a regular shampoo once in a while?

I would stop using baking soda (very alkaline + stripping on the hair). You'd be better off just using a sulfate shampoo, IMMHO.

I think there's fairly little you can do.

Also, it's quite short yet. 2a does best with more length, but you'll have to be patient for that.

Good luck & happy growing. :)

Borgessa
January 27th, 2017, 04:10 AM
With a gorgeous face like that no one be looking for them curls/waves, I think both pics your hair looks great certainly not boring.

rmani
January 27th, 2017, 04:40 AM