PDA

View Full Version : I might be crazy but I think I damaged my scalp and stalled my growth

Rhoward
January 20th, 2017, 04:00 PM
Forgive me if I sound insane but I think I might have really annoyed my scalp and caused a growth stall. I was wondering if anyone else has had a similar experience?

I started using henndigo and really taking good proper LHC care of my hair about 5 months ago (September 2016), the transformation was AMAZING, my hair also started growing a lot faster too, which was great because I basically cut all my growth off every month to get rid of damage.

Anyway, my henndigo faded and instead of doing a gloss or something sensible I used chemical colour over it. I convinced myself 'your hair is so healthy now, it will be fine, you'll get a cooler colour, you'll like it better, blah blah blah' (I used to work as a hairdresser in my younger years so I have this evil 'hairdresser knows best' voice in my head every now and again. I'm going to have to destroy it, the woman is an idiot!)

I only used 10vol developer and I used professional colour products. But my scalp felt really dry and irritated after I did it, not red or inflamed or anything but just 'angry' and really really dry. My growth has slowed down so much, its hardly grown at all since I did it, I think the chemicals angered my scalp and slowed my growth (of course the colour faded in a couple of weeks). Even my husband (who trims my hair for me) has noticed "what happened to your hair, it was looking so shiny and thick and now its just dull" (great that's what every girl wants to hear!)

I have done a cassia treatment and ordered some henna/indigo and will do a gloss when it gets here. I have been rubbing oil (coconut/caster and peppermint oil mix) into my scalp once a fortnight. Any tips from you ladies to help my scalp health would be most appreciated.

Of course I will never use chemicals again. Officially forever a henndigo head now. :blossom:

embee
January 20th, 2017, 04:14 PM