PDA

View Full Version : Difficulties putting my hair up

thunderseed
January 9th, 2017, 06:47 PM
I never wear my hair up so maybe it's because I'm a noob but every time I try to put my hair up in a bun I get unsightly bulges on the top and the bottom. I've tried various different kinds of buns while following youtube tutorials, and all of them end up with ugly bulges. I can't seem to get my hair to stay tight against my scalp.

Also, another problem I have is no matter how much I detangle my hair, as soon as I try to put it up, it gets masses of tangles in it instantly, and it's so thick that I can't seem to hold it with one hand and twist it with the other to do buns, it's very hard to work with. And while I'm trying to gather all my hair and make it super sleek and tight in like a centered ponytail or something, tons of tangles start to happen and prevent me from getting as sleek as I would like, or my hair develops a mind of its own and tries to break free.

I mean, I watch all those girls in the youtube videos and they put their hair up super fast, and their hair seems very easy, sleek with 0 tangles in it. They don't get bumps or bulges in theirs. But my hair turns into medusa hair or something every time I try to put it up.

Can anyone give me any tips?

Anje
January 9th, 2017, 10:24 PM
If it's tangling badly, probably the first thing to address is why that is. Start with a good clarifying wash -- lather with a clarifying sulfate shampoo all the way to your ends, maybe even twice. Condition after. If that doesn't do it, there are a few things with protein/moisture balance that are worth fiddling with before you assume you've got bad ends that need trimmed, so don't give up hope immediately.

Maybe start trying to put your hair up when it's braided, instead of simply twisting it. That can make it a lot easier to handle. Some people prefer rope braids to the standard 3-strands; I didn't, but it's a personal preference thing.