PDA

View Full Version : Color removal disaster :(

LemonEyes
January 8th, 2017, 07:36 PM
So I feel pretty dumb having to post this seeing as I'm a licensed cosmetologist and should "know better", but, here I am.
A little background...I have been coloring my hair for over twelve years (since I was 11 or 12). For the past few years it has always been pretty dark...either black, blue, or black and blue. Now, for many reasons, I would like to get back to as close as I can to my natural hair color, which is a light brown (if I remember correctly!) Maybe somewhere between a level 5 and 6. I most recently had my hair at about a level 3 with some gross blue/green hues coming through from my old "funky colors". I didn't really want to deal with weird demarcation line as I grew out my hair. I decided I would use a color remover, then tone to as close to my natural as possible, and then stop coloring all together, growing out naturally.
Big mistake.
After using L'Oreal Effasol today my hair is at LEAST five different colors, ranging from brassy yellowish to still black. I also have swampy green, coppery browns, and dark red browns in there. Yuck. I knew my color wouldn't be pretty after the removal, but I didn't think it would be so VARIED. Each strand has multiple bars of color. I guess years of changing up my color really took its toll.
Now I'm stuck wondering what to do next. Do I try the Effasol again, trying to only hit the darker spots (which are mostly in the middle of the strands)? Do I do a bleach wash? Do I cut my losses and just throw a darkish semi over everything and let the slow painfuk grow out process commence?