PDA

View Full Version : Hello, I am new and need hair help

artiom
December 2nd, 2016, 04:21 PM
I am Artiom and I am 16. I have been growing my hair for more than 3 years now since my mom finally let me start growing it long. I love having my hair long and want to keep growing longer. I have not had any trims but I think I need to trim now as my ends don't look as good and I read that some trims are good. I wanted to know how much to ask the hairdresser to cut or if I really need to cut my hair.

https://s18.postimg.org/if7u5k915/90870982.jpg
Here is me when I was just starting get long hair.

https://s18.postimg.org/ufta6agft/881494.jpg

And this is my hair now.

https://s18.postimg.org/o0u99m9q1/098273405.jpg

And here is me with a pony tail since I wear it like that most.

Obsidian
December 2nd, 2016, 05:44 PM
You have awesome hair, looks really great on you. The ends don't look bad at all, I wouldn't take off more then 1" or so. Make sure you explain very thoroughly the exact amount you want removed, hairdressers are notorious for cutting too much. I'll even suggest finding a barber, they are often better at listening to the client.

pamrlyn
December 2nd, 2016, 06:00 PM
Hi Artiom :waving:

That is a gorgeous head of hair you have there! trimming is not really necessary, but if you want an even hem line, or there is a lot of damage at the ends you might want to. totally up to you. There are directions on here somewhere, on how to trim your own hair. and on how to Search & Destroy (S&D) split ends, yourself.

If you go to a hair dresser - try to find someone that actually likes long hair. Then be very specific in telling the person what you want them to do. There are lots of sad stories about a trim becoming a chop, at the hair salon.

Check out these links for more information:

Feye's Self Trim instructions (http://feyeselftrim.livejournal.com/)
Search & Destroy Thread (http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/showthread.php?t=128399&page=4)

best of luck to you!