PDA

View Full Version : Will Clarifying Shampoo Strip Color?

genuinewicked
November 21st, 2016, 11:03 AM
Hello LHC'ers! I'm a new member here and have SO many questions!

I have been dying my hair black using vegetable dye for the last 3 years. I want my natural color back and have decided to start growing it out, but don't want to0 stark of a contrast between my natural color and the black. If I use clarifying shampoo, will it strip some of the vegetable dye from my hair? My hair has a tendency to get dry (I live in Colorado, where it's cold and dry and has very low humidity), so I'm concerned about the shampoo causing damage. I'll post some photos below of the color I have now and what my natural color is. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

http://i.imgur.com/4Pnx2z1.jpg?1 http://i.imgur.com/FWQrE3f.jpg?1 http://i.imgur.com/U0fAVLY.jpg

Robot Ninja
November 21st, 2016, 11:15 AM
Yes, clarifying shampoo will strip your color. It won't take it all out at once though, especially if you've been layering dye for years. Mixing vitamin C tablets into the shampoo and letting it sit on your head for an hour or so will strip even more color, but is even more drying. I have heard that soaking your hair in coconut oil before you shampoo will strip even more color.

If you're concerned about dryness, do an SMT after you clarify. That should fix it right up.

lapushka
November 21st, 2016, 11:21 AM
I'm taking it's a permanent vegetable dye? How can that be?

If it's temporary, anything can take it out, provided you wait the required amount of time (x number of washes; x number of weeks) it's supposed to be in there. Doesn't have to be a clarifying shampoo in that case.

Good luck!

Obsidian
November 21st, 2016, 11:35 AM
I've heard head and shoulders works best for pulling color out. It can be even more drying then regular shampoo so make sure to get a good hydrating conditioner.

genuinewicked
November 21st, 2016, 11:46 AM