PDA

View Full Version : Canopy crisis - split ends and taper while working toward a blunt cut

x_x
October 28th, 2016, 04:15 PM
Hi everyone, I'm having some hair problems and I'd be so grateful for a little input!

So, I've been growing my hair out from a pixie cut for about three years, and my issue from the very beginning has been that when I reached chin length, a hairdresser convinced me to cut a layer into my hair. It was a pretty big length difference between canopy and under-layer - about three or four inches. The hairdresser also heavily thinned out my canopy creating a lot of hairs with different lengths. At some point I discovered self-trimming and decided that I'd trim my bottom layer every month, keeping half my new growth, until the top and bottom layers converged. This worked, but because I was desperate to keep some of my growth at the same time, it took about a year and a half. Sometime this winter the two layers finally converged and I was so excited: Yay, I can finally braid my hair! My hair is now between APL and BSL, and I've probably taken off at least half of my overall growth just to get to this point of having a basically blunt cut.

But of course there were underlying issues with my canopy, chiefly that it had grown without trims or intensive S&D for a really long time as I didn't want to prolong this layered hair phase, so that a lot of the hairs up there had never gotten a trim. This summer I also spent a lot of time outdoors. So my hair spent a lot of time wet and acquired a lot of sun damage, and this winter, bam, I suddenly have protein issues with my hair and a ton of split ends in my canopy. Like, if I just grab a lock of hair from the very crown of my head, at least half of the hairs look like split ends to me (the "candle" type where you can see that it's thin and a lighter color at the end and a hair that should be gently wavy has a weird little curly piece at the end).