PDA

View Full Version : Newbie in Budapest - hard water damage please help!

chutt
October 26th, 2016, 10:31 AM
Hi all!

Newbie here in need of some help. My hair type is 1c/F/i/lenghth just above shoulder. Have been dying blonde highlights for 20 years and had no problems until I moved country Last 6 years have gradually lost about 1/3 of the volume of my hair. I think it is a combination of brittleness, making it snap, however I have had a lot of loss from the root too. It used to be shiny and would get down past my shoulders but now it's very hard to do and is a stringy mess - even colour at the virgin hair at the roots only lasts a few weeks and my ash blonde colour becomes brassy very quickly. In the past it would only need a top up every 4 months or so, but now it seems to look dull after 6 weeks.

Have checked with doctor and made sure diet is good, in terms or iron etc, and it is. I am from an area with soft water and when I visit home my hair feels amazing, so I looked into the hard water levels of the city and in my district and they are:

Free chlorine
mg / l

Chloride
mg / l

Iron
ug / l

Manganese
<5
ug / l

nitrate
mg / l

Nitrite
<.02
mg / l

ammonium
<0.05
mg / l

total hardness
mg / l CaO

conductivity
S / cm

pH

I am in Budapest, Hungary, which is well known for the mineral properties in the water. Needless to say I would love to fix this. I am assuming this is to do with the hard water as a couple of other expats have commented on their hair recently.

I have started rinsing my hair with Evian after washing, and rinse out my hair with ACV twice a week. I am thinking to go for weekly protein treatments to the hairdresser too and maybe getting an all over colour to a darker ash brown until it looks better. It feels a bit nicer.

Could anybody please recommend and products I could leave in during the day?

Many thanks for any suggestions!

Kajzh
October 26th, 2016, 01:14 PM