PDA

View Full Version : Texture change. Why?

Rebeccalaurenxx
October 22nd, 2016, 04:31 PM
So recently I decided to clarify and SMT, for the first time ever.
I had not clarified in at least 1-2 years, at least with an actual clarifying shampoo. And I had been doing SMT wrong for the last 6 months.
I ACV regularly so I thought it was enough because I am a co-washer, but I guess I do not understand the science of clarifying because when I did that it was like my hair, became something else. It felt amazing, almost 100% tangle free, and super soft.
Anyway, I have my hair oiled at the moment and plan to co-wash today and see if there is immediate build-up.. Hopefully not. (I want my hair to feel this way forever, tbh... )

But, I re-took my siggy photo and just noticed the huge change.
My texture and curl pattern looks different. If you compare my siggy to my profile photo, you can tell. My ends however still have a curl.
Any waves you see are from the braids I keep my hair in at night/during the day so they are not my natural curl pattern.
Yes, I did henna and indigo recently as you can see. (I am wondering if this also can change wave pattern?)
It just looks super "straight", or straighter than normal. Im not unhappy about it but it is kind of irritating because I wonder what I need to change about my hair regimen, because if my texture ISNT as curly as I thought; maybe i need to use SLS? Maybe I actually need shampoo?

What do you guys think? What can cause texture changes of this extent?

lapushka
October 22nd, 2016, 04:52 PM
But, I re-took my siggy photo and just noticed the huge change.
My texture and curl pattern looks different. If you compare my siggy to my profile photo, you can tell. My ends however still have a curl.
Any waves you see are from the braids I keep my hair in at night/during the day so they are not my natural curl pattern.
Yes, I did henna and indigo recently as you can see. (I am wondering if this also can change wave pattern?)