PDA

View Full Version : Overuse of products

Mrstran
October 16th, 2016, 02:31 PM
I'm pretty new at all this, so I was hoping that some of you could share your experience using keratin and protein treatments.

How do you know when your hair needs protein? How can you tell if you need a keratin treatment?

Ive heard stories that if you use these too often, your hair can actually become dry and break off. Is this true?

Ive been very curious about this for over a month now and I have yet to find a clear answer. Lol. Being that you all have the experience and great results, I figured I ask for myself and other first timers. I trust that your advise would be more reliable than any other website out there.

lapushka
October 16th, 2016, 02:34 PM
Keratin = protein; or do you mean a brazilian blowout keratin treatment?

For protein, it's simple. If your hair is to elastic-y and stretchy, you need protein. If it is too dry and brittle, it needs moisture. If it's in between the two, it's doing just fine, and you should do what you've been doing.

Mrstran
October 16th, 2016, 02:48 PM
Lol I didn't realize they were the same thing. How embarrassing :(
Thank you for the info! I have no clue what I'm doing.

animetor7
October 16th, 2016, 02:52 PM
Lol I didn't realize they were the same thing. How embarrassing :(
Thank you for the info! I have no clue what I'm doing.

No shame in not knowing something. That's the boards are for, all of us learning how to achieve beautiful long lengths!! Good luck on your long hair journey!! :) :flower:

ETA: As for when you need a protein treatment it's just as lapushka said, if your hair feels stretchy or mushy it needs protein, if it doesn't I wouldn't worry about it.

sarahthegemini
October 16th, 2016, 02:54 PM