PDA

View Full Version : Why keep your hair up?

Flipgirl24
September 22nd, 2016, 02:10 PM
Hello! I'm a newbie here. I've been reading some of the threads here and am curious about something. You all work so hard to get your hair long and beautiful, why do you always put it up? I have noticed some people state they rarely have it down like it's a no-no. Is it a no-no? If so, why? I'm not judging ; just curious.

TIA!

littlestarface
September 22nd, 2016, 02:13 PM
Cuz with long hair to keep it up keeps it protected and safe, it doesnt snag on anything and get broken strands and also so we don't sit on it and put stress on our ends.

Shiranshoku
September 22nd, 2016, 02:18 PM
Cuz with long hair to keep it up keeps it protected and safe, it doesnt snag on anything and get broken strands and also so we don't sit on it and put stress on our ends.

+1!

Also, long hair gets in the way. So it's simply more practical to have it up.

Plus, personally, I love a dramatic bun drop. :D

Anje
September 22nd, 2016, 02:26 PM
The best comparison I've seen is that long hair is like a flag. If you leave a flag out flapping in the breeze each day, after a few months it starts to show wear. A few years, and it's frayed and frazzled, if it isn't completely torn and wrecked. On the other hand, if you fold up a flag neatly and keep it safe, it will last for decades without showing any significant wear and tear.

The same is true for hair -- if you leave it loose all the time, it experiences constant wear. It gets rubbed against things, caught in various places, and ends up breaking off at a shorter length than if it's kept in a protective style much of the time.