PDA

View Full Version : Locked hair ("dreadlock") Q&A pt.2!

Kajzh
September 6th, 2016, 12:55 AM
Hi everyone!
I am a years-long lurker who decided recently to get involved in the community! So hello! During my time hiding in the background, I've noticed some myths and confusion around the topic of locked hair (commonly known as "dreadlocks"). Having locked hair myself and seeing that the old thread closed, I figured I'd open up a new thread where you all can feel free to ask questions about how locks form and are cared for.

My background
I am black with 3b/c hair, and I have been a locked hair stylist for more than a half decade. (For reference, that's my mug down below!) My clients span every race, age group, and hair type — from 1a to 4c. I have expertise in starting, maintaining, and extending permanent locks, and also have experience making temporary synthetic locks that can be worn simply by braiding them into brushable hair. I have background education in chemistry, which heavily informs the products and care regimens I recommend to my clients. So with all that said, I am well-able to answer any question thrown my way!

Feel free to ask — anything
This thread is intended for educational purposes, so don't feel shy about asking about anything you've been wondering or what you've heard. You can't make me feel bad, and you're certainly not silly ... trust me, I've heard it all! If you'd like to see photo examples of anything to aid you as a visual learning tool, feel free to let me know and I can do my best to show you.

I look forward to sharing with you and learning from your expertise elsewhere as well!

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/500x500q90/921/yG4INj.jpg

Alissalocks
September 6th, 2016, 05:38 AM
I know very little about locked hair, one of the women I dance with in my belly dance troupe wears locks. Looking forward to learning more from this thread, thanks for sharing your expertise!

HairPlease
September 6th, 2016, 06:19 AM