PDA

View Full Version : When Did You Commit to This Lifestyle?

Necromancer
August 16th, 2016, 06:27 PM
Greetings my faerie kin. I've been growing my hair for the past five years. It started from a pixie length and is now mid-back, which I am quite proud of. My goal is one length waist length. My question for you all tonight is: when did you make the shift from "liking" hair and wanting it to be long and nice, to genuinely caring for your hair in all things that you do? I ask because while I desire and strive toward healthy long hair, I also abuse my hair, which I am sure has damaged it and limited my growth for now. For example, I stopped coloring my hair years ago, but I have had two Japanese straightening procedures in the past 3 years. The first was fabulous; flat and shiny just like I like it. My hair is naturally poofy and wavy/curly. I like heavy, flat, straight hair. So while I love my hair, I have struggled to accept my hair exactly as it is, which I think has limited growth.

My second Japanese straightening session noticeably damaged my hair, so now I won't do it again. But nonetheless, my hair is shiny and healthy looking; its just thin at the ends and there's a lot of flyaways. Now that my hair is long, it weighs itself down and most of it is still straight except for the new growth, so I like it. I don't mind the waves when its flat/smooth as opposed to voluminous and light, which I hate on me! My point is, I struggle to really tend to my hair the way I know I should if I want to be serious about having healthy long hair. When did you make the shift to seriously care for your hair, was there a time when you struggled, and how'd you do it?

Necromancer

Decoy24601
August 16th, 2016, 06:49 PM