PDA

View Full Version : What do you do with your hair when you sleep?

Hypnoteyes
August 9th, 2016, 10:13 PM
I used to put my hair in a pony and leave it at that, but I fear that is contributing to minor breakage and wisps around the nape of the neck. What do you all prefer to do with your when off to bed? Have you any sources that say leaving it down and loose is best?

Frankenstein
August 9th, 2016, 10:18 PM
I put mine in a braid or bun and wear a satin bonnet over that. Leaving it down and loose is probably okay but would be best to use a silk or satin pillowcase to reduce friction.

Decoy24601
August 9th, 2016, 10:19 PM
I sleep mostly on my back, so buns are out of the question for me, especially since top-knots hurt my scalp way too much. I'll either sleep with my hair loose (hanging off the back of the bed) or in a braid piled behind my pillow. I've been doing the latter almost every night for a couple months. I secure the braid with a hair tie (the kind that doesn't have any metal).

I don't have a satin pillowcase or sheets either (I honestly don't think it's that necessary, but YMMV). So far, braiding my hair at night has been enough for me.

neko_kawaii
August 9th, 2016, 10:34 PM
I get scalp fatigue if I bun more than during daylight hours. For sleep I mostly toss it into a silk cap but when I oil overnight I braid it.

Deborah
August 9th, 2016, 11:33 PM
Most of the folks on this list advise that it is best to not sleep in a pony tail. Whatever you use to hold the pony tail in place can cause hair breakage, and a pony tail puts a lot of pressure on the hairline. I sleep in a loose braid on a silk pillow case. I used to sleep with it down loose, but I get less tangles with the loose braid, so I think it is better for my hair.

Tosca
August 9th, 2016, 11:36 PM
I leave it loose and flip the length over my pillow.

Creaky_Girl
August 10th, 2016, 02:54 AM