PDA

View Full Version : Desperately trying to be Rapunzel... With no avail

Megsprocket
July 18th, 2016, 10:50 PM
I am desperately trying to grow out my hair. I can't seem to get it more than a few inches past my shoulders before it splits and I have to trim it. I try to keep it hydrated but I think it is pretty dry, and I am moving to the desert! (It is the perfect texture for beachy-waves, which it does naturally, kinda curly.) Here's the thing: I am constantly exposing it to harsh elements. I am a ski patroller by profession, so my pony tail is exposed to whipping wind and freezing temperatures all winter. Not to mention the rest of the year, swimming, climbing, camp fires, etc.

Here's what I do (that I think is hair friendly):
-Shampoo 2-3 times a week with only baking soda and only on the roots. Deep condition with a (new) aphogee brand keratin conditioner.
-use dry shampoo or wear a hat when needed
-wrap loosely in a microfiber towel after shower
-Air dry (sometimes use a hairdryer with diffuser on warm on the roots or else it will freeze)
-brush starting ends first with a boar bristle brush before bedtime
-sleep on a silk pillowcase
-sometimes use coconut oil in the ends, use a grape seed and water mix as a fly-away tamer, and egg-yogurt-honey masks
-get trims every 6 months (this I should probably do more often? I bought my own nice scissors to nip splits when I see them.)

My questions:
-Is there a hair balm I should be using on the ends to protect them from sun and wind? (Kinda like Chapstick for your hair)
-Should I braid it to keep damage minimal?
-I was using OGX brand conditioner before. Is this doing more damage to my hair?
-does the fructis split end eraser actually work? I feel like cheap drugstore stuff (ahem, the only stuff in my budget) does more long term Harm than good!
-Should I be taking biotin? I took it before and felt like it made me gain weight, but maybe that is completely unrelated.
WHY WONT IT GROW LONGER THAN MY SHOULDERS?!