PDA

View Full Version : Hair Stick Length Question

vampyyri
July 17th, 2016, 03:27 PM
I'm new to the world of hair sticks, and I just received a stick from WoodEverIImage, but I fear that it may be too short? When she was asking me about the length I wanted when I was ordering my custom from her, I went for what I thought was the "standard", 6". Here is the sold listing (https://www.etsy.com/listing/465915019/custom-crushed-cranberry?ref=shop_home_active_7), it says 6", but in our etsy conversation, she said it was 1/2" thick.

Here it is in my bun:

http://i882.photobucket.com/albums/ac27/Nyssa_Gomez/braidedbun_zpsy4lr5wxx.jpg

It seems my hair just eats the poor thing up and it can hardly stick out the other side. I've tried other buns with the same result. My hair is very close to being iii thickness (measures around 3.75" and 3.9" depending, I have a hard time getting a consistent reading), so maybe I need something larger? Or is this how sticks normally look...? :confused:

I was wondering what length I should aim for if I were to order another one. I see sticks can go up to 7", but I suppose I just needed a second opinion! (don't get me wrong, I love this stick to death and will wear it, but I wish more of the craftsmanship was showing!)

Duchess Fuzzy Buns
July 17th, 2016, 03:38 PM
As long as it's long enough to hold the bun securely without your hair falling off the end of the stick, then I would consider it "long enough" but it's really just personal preference. If you want to see more of the stick, then go with a longer one. Some people don't like seeing much stick poking out of the sides. FWIW I think that length looks fine in your bun as is, but you could also go a little longer without it looking odd or like it was to long.

vampyyri
July 17th, 2016, 03:44 PM